God, Lifestyle, Love

Seeking the truth: Do you believe in Him?

Hey Seekers!

Hope your summer is going greeeeeaaaat! It’s good to see some of us have been having the time of our lives. To those of us who have still got a few exams or classes over the summer, best of luck and God be with you ✨

Now a lot has happened between the time the Vous Team put up our last post and now, but we thought we’d let you know a few things we’ve learned over the past few weeks.

Firstly, I’m not sure how many people knew about the Hallelujah Challenge hosted by Nathaniel Bassey in the month of June. It was a one month praise challenge for one hour everyday in June, and from 12 am till 1am (Nigerian time) we all joined Pastor Nat on his Instagram live to praise God.

On the last day, he said something very important. He told us not to do anything without hearing from God. Then he added, don’t enter a relationship without hearing from God.

That’s quite 👌🏽👌🏽 – in my own words, I’d say super.  This is because for some of us, when we feel everything is going right with us, we look for the next person we click with and bam 💥, then possibly, along the way we may ask God for support, which TBH isn’t the best idea 😂.

This is because God isn’t our support system, He’s supposed to be our entire system!

We sing the song “Every move I make, I make in you..” but how many moves do we really make in Jesus?

Something to digest guys, hearing from God is key.

It’s the master key 🔑

Before we take steps, no mater how baby they may be, we should talk to God and ask for His opinion about it cause sometimes it may be the right step, just at the wrong time. And just because we don’t hear from Him doesn’t mean He hasn’t heard us or He hasn’t answered. Sometimes we just need to open our eyes, because the answer may be right in front of us, we just choose to ignore it because that’s not the answer we want at the moment.

Also many of us claim to seek, by fasting and praying but do we actually wait for God to answer? Or do we just go ahead with our decision because we feel we’ve done our part of the equation so whenever God is ready, He’ll join you on your journey.
Well, if you do already have someone in mind, you may want to ask yourself how the person has influenced your spiritual life.

Whoever you choose to end up with whether now or later, should love Jesus more than He loves you. And that’s quite the individual when you think about it 🤔not many people our age these days can fill those shoes, at least not yet. Which is why waiting to hear from God is very important.

Jesus is supposed to be the centre of it all. So if He isn’t the centre of your relationship then… idk , wyd? 🤷🏽‍♀️🤔

And like someone wrote, as humans we have the tendency to want to hold on to things, or force things into place. We try to manipulate things to fit our standard or what we think God wants feat. what we want. We try to help God remix His plans because your version always sounds a bit more workable.

But when things fall apart, we start to ask questions like why did God let that happen and we try to scramble around picking up the pieces and blaming God along the way but how can you blame Him for a problem He did not create?

You see, sometimes it’s not about our will being done but our will coming apart so His can come together .

Like Kirk Franklin sang, we should take our will and exchange it for God’s will – Today.

Really though, this topic is a topic for another post so don’t worry, we’ve already got people lined up to talk about it.

Now, I don’t know how many of us did the challenge 🤷🏽‍♀️it’s cool if you did, or if you didn’t, or if you did one day or whatever. But, if you feel the experience changed you for the better , then I want to encourage you not to slip up, not to falter, not to let your relationship with God… reduce 🤔

Don’t let this be a one time thing. Don’t let it be a cycle of “in the month of June I was on point with God, July, I’m going to focus on my own thing and wait for the next Hallelujah challenge to switch up my spirit life again”.

Nah, don’t wait for the next public spiritual gathering.

If God has started something in your life through an event , follow it up personally.

Don’t let your walk with God be a ceremonial Sunday or Holy Ghost challenge thing. Let it be reflected inside and out everyday.

Update your salvation everyday. Keep working on your repentance and continue the challenge if you can. Get a few friends, worship at midnight , do a Bible study at noon or anything and not just with your friends but on your own.

This race to heaven is not a group race it’s a singular race – a one person race. It’s just cause of God’s love , everyone wants to get their friends involved so we all make it to heaven.

But yes, don’t let your relationship with God be dependant on someone else’s availability for Bible study. Work out your faith with fear and trembling and people will follow too.

Remember: Olowogbogboro has turned things around for our good ☺️

 


 

Secondly, taking into context the questions we asked in our previous post, we asked some readers if they do believe in God.

Here’s what they had to say:

Pelumi, 19:

Yes I do believe in God. It took me a long time to actually understand Him, search Him and seek Him. Lots of life journeys opened my eyes.
To believe in God is to have faith in Him. To know His words in a way that you find peace in them.

It’s knowing that he can turn any mountain.


Esther, 18:

Yeah because, I’ve experienced some things that humans can’t make you experience.

But for the question of why am I a Christian? Its because it’s easier that way. It’s easier to put your trust in God than to go through life on your own.

Then again, the fear of hell adds to why I’m a Christian.

But, I’m aiming to move past that and just love Christ. 


Tise, 17:

Yes. I believe in God because the Bible says, In the beginning was the word and the word was with God and the word was God (John1:1). Also, I believe in what Jesus did on the cross for me.

In Genesis, we see the beginning of the world. The world was there and was without form and void and the Spirit of the Lord moved across the waters.

Then God said let there be light. He created it all. Many people believe the Bible to be a story book. But historically speaking, what happens there is accurate. Like a historian wrote about the Tower of Babel. God made it all.

But asking, do you believe in God? can mean so many things.

For example, does He exist? Do you put your faith in Him? Stuff like that.

 There are other gods but what makes this God different?

God has proved himself many times over as the only true God:

  • With Elijah and the prophets of Baal.
  • With the parting of the Red Sea.
  • With the plagues.
  • And many others.

But, the amazing thing about God is His love. 

Do you know what is means for a man to give his only son in exchange for a person who never regarded or cared for him all his life?

God’s love for the world was like that, the Bible says God is love. In the famous John 3:16, you see what God did.

The greatest commandment is love. The Bible says, there is no greater love than for a man to lay down his life for a friend (John15:13). 

Jesus laid down his life for us.

Many of us cannot even forfeit material things for the well being of people we don’t know.

Even when we do, we feel so highly of ourselves, but it still cannot be compared to what Jesus did.

Our own form of righteousness is like filthy rags onto the Lord. (Isaiah 64:6 – We are all infected and impure with sin. When we display our righteous deeds, they are nothing but filthy rags. Like autumn leaves, we wither and fall, and our sins sweep us away like the wind. NLT). 

Putting that verse into perspective, in those days they didn’t have sanitary pads so they used rags. So, it’s like the best of your righteousness is like a used pad or tampon to the Lord.

Seeking Vous: But He over looked that when He sent Jesus to die for us. Making us the righteousness of God through Jesus Christ.  2 Corinthians 5:21 – For He made Him who knew no sin to be sin for us, that we might become the righteousness of God in Him. So that through Jesus Christ, we also may be made righteous.

I’ve been talking about God’s love and not really if I believe in Him. But His love is the greatest reason as to why you should believe in Him.

Believing is the only thing that’ll save you and give you eternal life.

Not just saying I believe but, actually believing.

Biggest point: it isn’t only sinners who go to Hell, but the people who don’t believe. 

 

Ekpeju, 18:

Firstly, I am Christian and I believe in God.
Secondly, I’d love to say I’m a Christian because I love Christ but I’m still trying to understand what love is from a Godly perspective so it’s half and half. Thus, it’s cause I love God and because I don’t want to go to hell.
Finally, my soul is not what it should be. I have my ups and downs and I’m still coming to terms with this surrender thing but overall my soul is definitely better than it was six months ago.

I believe the process of reconciling your soul to Christ is a gradual process.

So yeah, my soul isn’t what it should be but it also isn’t what it used to be.

 

Fiona, 18:

I feel like many times we miss it. Honestly most of us have very much missed it..

My eyes are being opened bit by bit as God reveals to me and I’m coming to understand that this world is deeper than we see.. Wayyy deeper.

  • When you die, where do you go?
  • Who created you?
  • Where were you before you were born?

Lol.. We didn’t exist, we don’t exist on our own. It’s His spirit within us that gives us life. This body is just a temple. Think about it, if there’s nothing more, no spiritual realm, then when we die, what happens? lol.. It’s a lot to think about.

But to your question, I believe in God. Why? Because I have experienced Him and I am still experiencing Him. What draws me the most to Him is the fact that when I am with Him, I don’t have to feel insecure about my flaws because He has promised to cleanse me through His spirit. It might sound crazy, but I’m just an empty vessel filled up by His spirit. So when I am connected to Him he reveals His identity and my identity in Him.

In Him I am complete and made whole. It sometimes brings me to tears how much He treats me right, the way no man has ever treated me. He loves me. All this is made available through the blood of Jesus.

It’s still a bit shaky, but I believe in Him because my eyes are being opened, and I know it’s either darkness or light. It’s all very very that deep.

But the best part is the fact that He loves me.. And will continue to answer my questions and open my eyes and transform my heart as long as I continue to seek Him all through His grace. 

 


 

The Vous Team would like to say thank you to those who sent in answers, keep sending them in & we may have part 2 of this sometime soon.

But there are many shades of one answer and many dimensions to one God. If you’re still thinking about the question, consider why and as we continue to seek, He will reveal Himself to us.

God bless you,

The VousTeam ✨


 

 

 

Leave a Reply

