art, God, Lifestyle, travel

Seeking Voyage: Europa

Hallo daar!

That’s Dutch for Hey there!

This is the first Seeking Voyage Post πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰ And I’ll be telling you how I spent my weekend.

So I don’t know how many people have seen the movie Fault in our stars. I think a lot…? I don’t know, it was quite big when it came out. But then again, so many people might not be interested in chick flicks. But haha, it’s okay πŸ™‚

Basically, I brought it up because, in the movie, the two main characters – Hazel and Augustus – took a trip to The Netherlands to visit Amsterdam (and along the line, someone else too).

I’ve been in the Netherlands for a few days now and I’ve actually done more interesting stuff than I did during my entire summer (apart from my cousin’s wedding). Thanks to my sister who believes that she upgraded my life, ha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‘πŸ˜Š .

Okay so before I begin to rant, quick fact about the Netherlands:

  1. It’s capital is Amsterdam.
  2. It’s also known as Holland.
  3. The main language spoken is Dutch.
  4. Natives of the land are Dutch people.
  5. They really love their milk.. and it makes them really tall.
  6. The Netherlands is home to The International Court of Justice (In the Hague).
  7. The Dutch name for Netherlands is Nederland.
  8. Netherlands is famous for beer production. It’s also where Heineken is produced.
  9. You would never want to visit a Coffeeshop in Amsterdam. Trust me.

On my first day in Netherlands, I took a trip to Rotterdam with my sister.

Quick Fact about Rotterdam: It has the largest seaport in the whole of Europe.

So we first went to this place where we had a meat feast (Made up of ham, sausages, chicken, hamburger, and any meaty thing you can think of) which was quite divine πŸ˜‚. Also, I had Cassis, which is actually Fanta in Holland lol.

We went to a popular spot, The Euromast, where we had to join a long line of people who were visiting.

So basically it’s a tall building that gives you a view Rotterdam, other parts of Netherlands, and somewhere in the distance, Germany.

Yep. so that was pretty cool, being able to see Germany from where I stood.

 

On the second day – Sunday, we went to Hillsong Church at Escape in Amsterdam.

2083937123_6baf372222_z
So yeah, you should probably overlook the venue for the service πŸ˜‚πŸ™πŸ½

 

Basically, I had a GREAT time. I mean, it’s Hillsong! Their choir alone takes you to heavens’ gates.

They gave out free cake before service – I was happy about this cause I skipped breakfast. Once they let everyone into Church we all settled down, while the servant leaders met with people. In the background, they had music playing through the speakers and everyone generally had a vibrant energetic feel about being in Church.

I did feel welcome and a video played on the screen to sort of remind everyone of why we’re in Church, telling us that Jesus loves us and that no matter who you are or what you do, you can just come as you are.

snapchat-4902253975896621589

Soon the choir came up and as soon as they started singing, everyone literally jumped off from their seats, so eager to praise God. It amazed me at how much people were willing to sing for God at no cost and no one was shy at all. Maybe it was cause people were jumping or maybe it’s because the lights were dimmed to suit the mood, but I felt like I was at a concert. I was so so happyΒ πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜­πŸ˜­πŸ’•.squarequick_2016911182718470

After worship ended, we prayed for those who had sent in their requests and then, we had a one minute mingling session. I spent fifty seconds of it talking to my sister, and the remaining ten seconds meeting a girl, Madalon. She actually only told me her name and asked for mine, which would have taken a mere five seconds, but then I thought she was speaking Dutch when she said Madalon and so I ended up embarrassing myself, acting confused half the time. I also met Paul (who looks a lot like the actor, Alec Mapa), but that was at the end of the service.

During the service, I learned that we are all half-miracles: A work in progress, that God is developing. And that we don’t need a miracle because, we already have Jesus who is of course, the ultimate miracle.

After service, we prayed and the choir got up to sing one more song and the moment they said good bye and everything ended, Rihanna’s This is what you came for started playing through the speakers πŸ˜‚. Along the line,Β I got a Bible which I wasn’t meant to get, but I got and then, felt guilty afterwards for getting it. If you’re wondering why you have to feel guilty for getting a Bible, then I need to tell the story sometimeπŸ˜‚

word_promo_slide_01
Anyways, I thought the Bible looked really cool.

After Church, we had lunch, went to Madame Tussaud’s then went on a canal cruise round Amsterdam before heading back home to the Hague (Den Haag).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The following day, I didn’t wake up till three in the afternoon so the day was quite a drag. At least it was, up until the evening when we went to the beach for Dinner.

squarequick_2016912223854606squarequick_2016912224023550

We walked around for a bit, trying to decide on where to eat before we chose, Blue Lagoon. A restaurant with a great indoor and outdoor seating area, overlooking the beach.

snapchat-2195734165789039238snapchat-395586799848662287

 

I ordered the Pasta Gambarino and a Virgin Mojito Strawberry Β and it was quite fulfilling. Although now, I can’t explain why I’m up at three thirty A.M (CET) eating gala. I guess some things never change ey.

After dinner, we went back home, but not before stopping by the royal palace πŸ™‚

netherlands-den-haag-royal-palace.jpg

It’s basically been really great & I look forward to doing more things.. Hopefully better than the last few days πŸ™‚ .

So if you’re looking for new places to go to next summer, you might as well try Europe and visit the Netherlands.

So yeah, Bye bye or, as they say in Dutch, Doei !

download

P.S Amsterdam also has other places to visit like: Body worlds, The Amsterdam Dungeon, The Heineken Experience, Amsterdam Ice Bar and Red Lights Secrets (:

2 thoughts on “Seeking Voyage: Europa”

Leave a Reply

